The Psychological Portrait

Another concept I came across while doing research was that of the Psychological Portrait, in which a photograph or a piece of art says more about the subject portrayed than just the outer physical appearance. In this type of portraiture, it is the artist or creator’s goal to bring out a deeper meaning to the finished piece, one that reveals the subject’s “inner man (or woman)”.

steichen_morgan

The above 1903 photogravue by Edward Steichen of tycoon J.P Morgan is an excellent example of a psychological portrait. The stiff posture, the sombre facial expression, and the chair’s arm highlighted to look like a dagger say a lot about the subject. This less than friendly appearance may not be what Morgan portrays to the world, but the photograph, or rather the photographer, brought it out of him.

A more modern example of the psychological portrait is the work of New York based artist Elizabeth Zator, in which she used acrylic painting to explore her own identity. 0db79433891637.5605ea9d25c47 ba08fb33262007.5605d5e667807 e2c5d633261499.5605d66f3b134

This brings out another side to the psychological portrait, where it actually says quite a lot about how the photographer or artist sees his subjects, thus altering the final project. (If Edward Steichen was a big fan of J.P. Morgan, odds are the photograph would have had a much softer outcome.)

For my project, however, I wanted to take my own opinion entirely out of the picture. I want the finished result to be a mirror of my models’ self-visualisation rather than my own interpretation of what they’re really like. The online survey I created is my method of taking my voice out of the picture by letting the models portray themselves through 20 answers. My job is to then take these answers and translate them into photographic portrayals, where the studio is the only place my own interpretation comes into the final result.

Sources: http://prestonpagephotography.com/2011/04/06/portrait-theory-the-psychological-portrait/
https://www.behance.net/gallery/4239603/Psychological-Portraiture

Leave a comment